Moat Primary School


The school follows the requirements of the NI Curriculum. It is our starting point for planning a school curriculum that meets the needs of individual children.The NI Curriculum is the product of a recently revised curriculum that aims to retain the best of good practice while seeking to give greater emphasis to important elements such as children's Personal Development and Mutual Understanding (PDMU) and the explicit development of Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities.

As a school, we have the responsibility to provide a broad and balanced curriculum for the children. We aim to give every child the opportunity to experience success in learning and to achieve as high a standard as possible.


The curriculum for the three stages is set out in six Areas of Learning. Although they are set out separately, where appropriate, we integrate learning across the six areas to make relevant connections for the children.

The Areas are:

  1. Language and Literacy
  2. Mathematics and Numeracy
  3. The Arts
  4. The World Around Us
  5. Physical Education (PE)
  6. Personal Development and Mutual Understanding( PDMU)

Thinking Skills and Personal Capabilities

Personal skills and capabilities underpin success in all aspects of life. We seek to give the children worthwhile experiences across the curriculum which allow them to develop skills in:

  • Thinking, Problem-Solving and Decision-Making
  • Self Management
  • Working with Others
  • Managing Information
  • Being Creative

Click below to find out more:



 Foundation: Years 1 and 2

Key Stage 1 Years 3 and 4

Key Stage 2 Years 5, 6 and 7